top of page

The Power of the Routine


Every (week) day I wake up between 6:00 and 6:30. I love my mornings. I have a daily routine that just works for me. I feel like it gets me ready and motivated for the unknown of the day to come. I make my bed as soon as I get out of it. Next, I head to the kitchen where I make my coffee and breakfast. This breakfast takes me no more than 10 minutes, it is so efficient. I make my coffee (love my Keurig, sorry Planet Earth). I pop in my sandwich thin, throw two turkey sausages in the microwave and then cook 1/2 cup of egg whites. While things are cooking I drink a glass of water with three teaspoons of Apple Cider Vinegar. By the time I finish my water and ACV my coffee and breakfast is complete! I throw a little crushed red pepper on my egg whites and Voila! Could not be easier. Did I mention this breakfast is under 300 calories?! (100 calorie sandwich thin, 60 calories of egg whites, 100 calories of turkey sausage)

I then take my breakfast back to my room and turn on some soft, easy music and read the day's passage from The Daily Stoic. I started this book at the beginning of 2017 and I am in love with it. It sets the tone for my day.

While, my daily routine may seem bleak, it works for me. I love waking up every morning and doing something that I can control. Each day is so unpredictable. Even if you go to the same job every single day there is still so much unknown the day could bring. Having a morning routine keeps me sane.

Hope everyone had a wonderful February. Cheers to March!!

xo, leah


Recent Posts

bottom of page